PointofInterestRoadSigns.com - Alabama - Chambers County Historic Marker


About this site
Submit a Photo
State Travel Offices
Pick a Homepage - Alabama




 Welcome to Point of Interest Road Signs! A collection of photos of road and trail signs.  Click here for more Alabama Signs


Chambers County Historic Marker


Location of sign - Court Square, Lafayette, Alabama


Photo taken- March 2007


Chambers County Historic Marker

Photo courtesy of Jimmy Wayne


Text of sign:


Chambers County

Chambers County, created December 18, 1832 from Creek Indian cession.  Named for Dr. Henry C. Chambers of Madison 

County, member of Constitutional Convention 1819, legislature of 1820, elected U.S. senator 1825 but died enroute to 



County government organized 1833 by Judge James Thompson of Jefferson County.  First officers were: Nathaniel Greer, Sheriff;

William House, Clk. Cir. Ct.; Joseph James Williams, Clk. Co. Ct.; Booker Lawson, John Wood, William Fannin, John A. Hurst,

Commissioners of Roads and Revenue.  Permanent court site selected by Commissioners Thomas C. Russell, James Taylor and 

Capt. Baxter Taylor. A log courthouse was built here 1833, replaced by the brick structure 1837 and used until present courthouse 

erected 1899.


LaFayette, county seat, was formerly known as Chambersville and Chambers C. H. Courthouse.


Alabama Historical Association 1972


Please help us out by submitting a photo!


You can find more information about the state of Alabama here and get an Alabama Homepage here


This site is not affiliated with any government agency.  Photos may not be copied without written permission of the photographer.




          Copyright 2008-2010 All Rights Reserved Walker Global Marketing Inc. Privacy Policy  Terms of Service  Links